top of page

Tips for life at university!


University!


Wow...this word sounds so big and it gave me mixed feelings when I was about to start. I was excited for the new life and what lay ahead of me but was a bit frightened about living far away from home (farther than Iʼve ever been) and wasn’t sure if I would acclimatise easily.


Well, here are some tips I would like to share to uni newbies that will calm your nerves and make your journey worthwhile.


1. Go with an open mind

Be ready to learn new things, learn about other people’s cultures, make new friends, gain new experiences and develop your skills. Most people get into uni and box themselves with people who look and think like them. This is not a bad thing at all, but you could learn a lot more by interacting with a wide range of people and engaging in productive activities. That shouldn't stop you from choosing your friends wisely!


2. Have a goal you want to achieve and plan towards to it

Apart from having fun, uni is a place where you learn and achieve a grade at the end of each year. Many people hope to achieve a certain grade but get carried away and end up in regret. Set yourself a goal of a 1:1, 2:1, 2:2 etc. Having a set target helps you to balance your life at uni and allocate your time wisely. It would help guide the amount of effort you put in to your work depending on your personal ability.


3. Time management

When you receive your uni timetable it feels like youʼve got all the time in the world. This is because you may only have lectures two days in a week and the rest of the week is left for you to decide what to do. So it is very easy to “waste” your free time. I tackled this by engaging in other activities that required my physical presence such as clubs and societies.


4. Engage in extracurricular activities

There are many clubs, societies, sports and events on campus. Join a few that interests you and be active in them by taking up executive positions, becoming a team leader or volunteer guide. These positions will allow you to develop skills that will be helpful to you, look good on your Curriculum Vitae (CV) and prepare you for your job interviews in the future.


5. Donʼt be afraid to ask your lecturers questions

I only began to do this in my Final Year and I wish I had done that a lot more. Thereʼs nothing like a dumb question, ask your lecturers as much as you can so you can understand a concept or topic properly.


6. Get a study-group

I canʼt share my story of success at uni without mentioning my study-group friends. I had always been one who found studying alone easier and much more profitable. But while at uni, I discovered the power of group study. I didnʼt stop having my personal study but after having studied alone, I found that teaching and engaging in discussion with my study-group helped to deepen my knowledge about the subject. Answering questions together and coming across simpler methods and solutions at the end of my group study sessions always made me happy.


7. Donʼt panic, take time to rest, eat and drink lots of water

We canʼt avoid the junk food at uni, but let it not be an everyday thing. Learn to make yourself some well-cooked home meals, rest your head after lots of reading and always stay hydrated. Water helps keep the headaches away!!



Hope you find these tips useful!!

bottom of page